Ultimate guide to the 7-on-7 state tourney

This Thursday through Saturday mark the largest 7-on-7 tournament in the country as teams from across the state descend upon College Station for the Texas State Championships. For the third year in a row, the tournament is split into two divisions – small school and large school.
The small-school tournament consists of 32 Class 3A and under teams. It kicks off on Thursday at 1 p.m. with pool play consisting of three games kicking off at the top of every hour. Each team advances to the championship tournament, with pool play records determining their seeding. The tournament round begins Friday morning at 8 a.m.
The large-school tournament begins on Friday at 1 p.m. and follows the same basic format. However, it consists of 64 Class 4A and 5A teams. Because of the large number of teams, half the field will play while the other half sits during pool play. Pools A-H play their games at 1, 2 and 5 p.m. while pools I-P play at 2, 4 and 6 p.m. The top two teams from each pool advance to the Championship bracket on Saturday while the bottom two advance to the Consolation bracket. All tournament play is single elimination.
For a map of the fields, CLICK HERE.
Unlike last year, there are no big A&M targets or commits in the small-school division. However, the classes of 2011 and 2012 are well-represented.
Below is the list of pools along with players who might be of interest to Aggie fans that make it out to the Penberthy intramural fields. A * indicates a player that has been offered by A&M.
Pool A:
Anahuac - 2012 CB Justin Albritton
Brownwood - 2011 WR Jaxon Shipley
Altair Rice Consolidated
Pool B:
Bandera - 2010 QB Cole Hubble
Hitchcock - 2010 RB/LB Darius Dotson
Pool C:
Pool D:
Cameron Yoe
Edna - 2010 WR/DB Kam Jones
Graham - 2010 QB Case McCoy (Texas)*
Pool E:
Pilot Point
Pool F:
Carthage - 2011 LB Kendall Thompson
Glen Rose
Wills Point - 2010 WR Steven Cunigan
Wimberley - 2012 RB Dennis Smith
Pool G:
Abilene Wylie
Palestine Westwood
Navasota - 2010 WR/S Kye Hildreth, 2011 S Kesnick Jones, 2011 WR Alfon Taylor, 2011 WR Tevin Creeks
Pool H:
Lago Vista
The large-school division is loaded with top talent this year. Two A&M commits and four Texas commits will be in action Friday and Saturday. In addition, around 20 other DI commitments are playing as well. Along with the commitments, several top uncommitted seniors – including a few with Aggie offers – will be participating as well.
However, the major wealth of talent is in the classes of 2011 and 2012. Teams such as Whitehouse, Dulles, Elkins and Katy are all loaded with young talent.
Below is a list of teams in each pool, along with a list of top recruits participating on each time. A * marks a player with an A&M written offer or, in the case of a 2011 prospect, a verbal offer.
Pool A:
Lakeview Centennial
El Paso Bel Air
Klein - 2010 LB/TE Kevin Kisseberth, 2010 TE Eric Tomlinson
Lake Travis - 2011 QB Michael Brewer, 2012 WR Griffin Gilbert
Pool B:
Keller Central
El Paso Chapin
Langham Creek - 2010 LB Efrem Oliphant (Houston)
Marble Falls
Pool C:
Mansfield Legacy
Klein Forest - 2010 LB Cameron Nwosu (Rice), 2010 CB Damion Payne, 2010 LB Adrian Bennett, 2011 TE Kristian Bryant, 2012 QB Matthew Davis
Lufkin - 2010 CB Carrington Byndom (Texas), 2010 WR Quinn Trimble, 2011 QB Deuntre Smiley
Pool D:
Katy - 2010 TE Zachary Swanson (Stanford), 2010 S Sam Holl, 2011 RB Donovonn Young, 2011 LB Nick Narcisse
New Braunfels Canyon
Beaumont West Brook - 2011 LB Collin Garrett
Pool E:
Alamo Heights
Arlington Bowie - 2010 WR Montra Nelson (Oklahoma State)
Tyler Lee - 2010 LB Blake Roberts (TCU), 2010 S Chris Dinkins (TCU), 2010 LB Austin Wilson
Pool F:
Plano East - 2010 QB Brandon Wesley, 2010 WR/DB Denzelle White
Austin Anderson
Whitehouse - 2011 WR Trey Metoyer*, 2011 WR/S Quincy Aldridge, 2011 QB Preston Conder
Pool G:
Arlington - 2010 QB Matt Joeckel (A&M)*, 2011 WR Miles Onyegbule
Bastrop - 2011 QB Josiah Monroe
Houston Chavez - 2010 S Roland Veal, 2011 WR Jafus Gaines
Oak Ridge - 2012 RB Michael Handy
Pool H:
Arlington Lamar - 2010 RB Ja'Terian Douglas*
Cedar Park - 2010 LB Holmes Onwukaife, 2011 LB Chet Moss
Pearland Dawson - 2010 RB Xavier Brown (Houston), 2010 QB Darian Lazard (Utah), 2011 WR Marcus Vaughn
Houston Stratford
Pool I:
Copperas Cove - 2010 LB Donnell Hawkins
Jersey Village - 2010 TE Ronell Lavigne
Richardson Pearce
Southlake Carroll - 2010 CB Kacy Rodgers*, 2010 LB Cade Foster (Alabama), 2010 QB David Piland
Pool J:
Birdville - 2010 QB Josh Dorman
Temple - 2010 RB Lache Seastrunk*
Pool K:
Coppell - 2010 LB Jared Parham (Missouri), 2011 RB Cam McDaniel
Katy Seven Lakes
Stephenville - 2011 RB James Myles
Tomball - 2010 WR Jordan Leslie
Pool L:
Colleyville Heritage
Houston Lamar - 2010 CB Neiko Conway, 2011 S Earl Foster, 2011 QB Bram Kohlhausen
Stony Point - 2010 S Desmond Martin (Texas Tech), 2011 RB Stephen Williams, 2011 LB P.L. Lindley, 2011 QB Aaryn Sharp
The Woodlands - 2010 WR Randy Knust (Arizona State), 2011 RB Daniel Lasco, 2011 TE Michael Cooper
Pool M:
Fort Bend Bush - 2011 CB Michael Mudoh
Hays Consolidated
Spring - 2010 WR Arthur Londy
Wylie - 2010 RB Nick Knott (Wake Forest), 2010 TE Noah Cheshier, 2010 LB Toby Ball
Pool N:
Cedar Hill - 2010 RB Ben Malena (A&M)*, 2010 LB Aaron Benson (Texas)*, 2010 CB Elisha Olabode, 2011 QB Driphus Jackson
Bellaire - 2010 QB Adrian Nelson
Denton Guyer - 2010 S Antonio Burton (Kansas), 2010 WR Luke Russell (UNLV), 2011 QB J.W. Walsh, 2012 WR Connor Crane
Vista Ridge - 2010 RB Calvin Thompson
Pool O:
Abilene Cooper - 2010 CB Tc Robinson (Baylor)
DeSoto - 2010 CB Adrian White (Texas)*, 2010 WR Darius Terrell (Texas), 2010 RB Marcus Murphy, 2010 LB Zach Orr, 2011 RB Antoine Jimmerson, 2011 QB Ryan Polite
Elkins - 2010 WR Jordan Jolly, 2011 S Jaylon Finner, 2011 CB Tre' Spragg, 2012 WR/S Corey Thompson, 2012 WR Chance Allen, 2012 LB Zack Bamijoko
Richland - 2010 CB Isaac Umesi, 2011 LB Nico Ornelas
Pool P:
Abilene - 2011 RB Herschel Sims
Dulles - 2010 CB Zach McMillian (Houston), 2011 S Sheroid Evans, 2011 RB Jarrell Oliver
Klein Collins - 2010 RB JaMichael Rozier, 2011 QB Jonathan Fleming, 2013 RB Marcus Goodson
South Garland